• Female
  • Auckland
  • New Zealand
Share on Facebook MySpace
  • Blog Posts
  • Events
  • Groups (18)
  • Photos
  • Photo Albums
  • Videos

Kate's Friends

  • John Russell
  • Janet Kirwan
  • Emma Reynolds
  • Carla Melton
  • Miriam Tong
  • josephal
  • Buffie Mawhinney
  • Kathrina Muller
  • Jean
  • Paul
  • Janet Luke
  • Jenny Freewalker

Kate's Groups


Kate's Page

Profile Information

West Harbour
I can offer
Nothing yet.
Food Growing Skill Level
I am interested in...
Tell us about your garden and what you're growing
This year I put in my first garden. I turned an ancient dead shub, root bound, aggapantha fulled garden into my vege plot. It took 3 months of hard slog every morning to clear the patch. The cucumbers, tomatoes and pumpkins all got diseases and for all my work I got 1 cucumber, a small crop of tomotoes and 2 pumpkins. Beetroot has been my only true success and I pull one out each day to add to my morning smoothie.

Comment Wall (12 comments)

You need to be a member of Ooooby to add comments!

Join Ooooby

At 10:22am on April 6, 2013, Janet Kirwan said…

Hi Kate,

Sorry we don't have a hen wynedotte - we got a mix of 6 eggs in the spring and ended up with only one wynedotte.  Good Luck with your search :-)


At 8:25am on July 30, 2012, Emma Reynolds said…

He hasn't started crowing- though we do have an Orpington rooster who has been crowing (of sorts) for over a month. Although we are in Te Atatu, we technically live in an industrial area so don't have any neighbours to complain about our roos! :D

Having chooks certainly is a good learning experience! We have only had them for 6 months but have learnt a lot in that time and there is a wealth of information around if you have any issues (http://www.poultrycentral.co.nz/ is good)

Looking online, it seems to vary a lot when they start crowing- he does 'honk' of sorts, and his feathers have just started coming through (we were so hopeful he was a girl) so I expect it shouldn't be too long. 

You are more than welcome to come and see our set up and pick him up- I am home with a toddler during the week but we are around most of the weekend too. My number is 098200143. :)

At 7:16am on July 30, 2012, Emma Reynolds said…

Hi Kate, we would love you to have our roo! He is 17 weeks old and is really sweet. (hopefully the photo works below- it was taken last week)

We are based in Te Atatu South but do head out to Kumeu to buy our chook feed, so could drop him off once you are all set up. 

We haven't actually had day old Pekins- we have 2 flocks- 8 bantams and a group of mainly full sized Orpingtons. We had 12 day old chicks- 6 from a breeder in Helensville (barred rocks and light sussex) and 6 Orpingtons from a breeder in Coatsville- all sourced from Trademe. We have a bantam roo though so hopefully in the future we will have chicks. 

At 6:35am on July 30, 2012, Jenny Freewalker said…

Hi Kate, i have 3 bantam hens that l need to move on as circumstances have changed. they are in New Lynn. They are laying but l really got them for the poop.

At 10:47am on April 4, 2012, Bridge Scully said…

Hi Kate, I think you may be meaning Tree Lucerne which is also called Tagasaste. These are different from Tree Lupins. This is the tree crop that is useful for establishing new grounds. Cheers, Bridget

At 10:05am on April 4, 2012, Jean said…

Kate I've sent you a reply through seed exchange, and a request to be your friend, I need to know your address if you'd like the seeds.  The plants/trees grwo really quickly from seeds. Regards, Jean W.

At 10:46pm on April 3, 2012, Paul said…

Hi Kate 

Not sure if you got my email re Tree Lucerne.  If you haven't got it, let me know and I'll message it to you on here.


At 10:04pm on April 3, 2012, Matt Moir said…

Hey Kate The new chook coop is being painted tomorrow and assembled thursday morning I'm pickin it up most likly thursday afternoon Ill post some pics hopefully this weekend and your welcome to come over and take a look if you like Cheers Matt 

At 9:46am on December 10, 2010, Lesley Ramsey said…
Hi Kate
I cant do Wednesday so that leaves Monday 12, Tuesday 13 and Friday 17 9am - 3pm
At 2:45pm on December 8, 2010, Lesley Ramsey said…
Hi Kate have just looked at your profile and see that you live in North Harbour. I live in North Shore Albany/Glenfield border. If you want and expect a garden in transition, (looking a mess) you could come over for a looksee, if we can make arrangements as to time and day


  • Add Photos
  • View All

© 2023   Created by Pete Russell.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service